I Think, Therefore….

In the months since I first joined the Erotica Readers and Writers Association email listserve, one of the things I have been most impressed by is the discussion and tips about the craft of writing. And I mean the general craft of writing, not just Tab-A-Slot-B theme writing. A few weeks ago I brought up this essay by Chuck Palahniuk, which I stumbled across via another author-friend, and the group had an interesting discussion of its various merits and flaws. In essence, the essay discusses different ways to describe how a character is thinking or feeling, besides simply saying, “She thought that…” or, “This thing made him feel like…” and so on. It made me think about my own writing in a different way and I immediately went and edited a story I had been working on, tossing in a couple patches of similar Palahniuk-prose to spice things up a bit, and generally was happy with the results.

This discussion apparently sparked some even deeper thought and theorizing in some of the members, one of whom went on to write an excellent breakdown of why she doesn’t fully agree with the Palahniuk approach.

All in all, though, no matter who–if anyone–one agrees with, such discussion is excellent for training one to think critically about their writing, which I wholeheartedly approve of.

The hard part seems to be simply getting the writing¬†out of one’s thoughts and onto the paper.

Posted on August 21, 2013, in Writing Theory. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

